England at the 2022 World Cup: who is in Gareth Southgate’s 26-man squad?

(Reuters) – England are looking to win their second World Cup title from November 20 to December. 18 championships in Qatar. Here’s what you need to know about their team:

How many players can England take to Qatar?

*Teams will be able to select up to 26 players for this year’s World Cup after FIFA increased the team limit by three in June, citing the unusual timing of the tournament as well as the impact of COVID-19.

* Coaches have until November 14 to decide their final 26-man squad by 1800 GMT.

Who is in the England squad for the 2022 World Cup?

The England squad was announced on 10 November.

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Everton goalkeeper Pickford has been Southgate’s first choice since the 2018 World Cup and started every game in last year’s European Championship.

Bob’s performance with Newcastle appears to have replaced him as Pickford’s deputy, while Ramsdale’s impressive performance at Arsenal saw him sign him on loan from Nottingham Forest Dean Henderson.

Also Read :  Has Dusty Baker won a World Series? History of appearances as a player, manager for Astros skipper

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Everton, on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City) ). Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Arsenal).

Southgate chose four specialized defenders and five players who play mostly central after his options were exhausted due to injuries to Chelsea full backs Reece James and Ben Chilwell.

Walker overcame fitness concerns to be included while White was rewarded for an excellent season. Southgate has maintained his faith in Maguire despite his club’s poor form of club which led to his exclusion from the United squad.

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Calvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United).

Phillips recovered in time from a shoulder injury to make a cut despite his lack of fitness. Gallagher starred for Palace last season and put himself on Southgate’s radar and earned a spot despite being used sparingly at Chelsea.

Also Read :  World Cup teams nix armbands that were seen as snub to Qatar

Teenage Bellingham will bring an energetic and eye-catching presence to the opportunity while Rice provides a solid shield in front of the defense as well as momentum in midfield.

* Attackers: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), James Maddison (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United).

Madison and Wilson got their first call-ups in three years after the fine began in the domestic season.

Rashford is also back in the fold having scored a goal this season and will accompany Kane’s talisman in the hitting division.

Who are the noticeable omissions?

– Southgate has left out several in-form players including defender Fikayo Tomori (AC Milan), midfielder James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), strikers Tammy Abraham (Roma) and Evan Toni (Brentford), all of whom were in the last squad.

What teams will England face in the group stage?

Also Read :  White House treads carefully as protests unfold in China as US tries to mend relations with Beijing

England will face Iran, Wales and the United States in Group B.

Who was in the England squad for the 2018 World Cup?

Twelve of the 26 players called up on Thursday were in Southgate’s semi-final squad in Russia, where they lost to Croatia in extra time.

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke City), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley).

Defenders: John Stones (Manchester City), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Young (Manchester United), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Manchester City). ). .

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal).

Compiled by Hritika Sharma in Bengaluru, Editing by Ed Osmond

Our Standards: Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button